Author Topic: Best I/O controller for WolfMAME  (Read 128 times)

Offline KongTower

Best I/O controller for WolfMAME
« on: February 09, 2018, 05:51:06 PM »
As an arcade game developer, I have far more than the typical amount of knowledge for how inputs get to the video state-machine and logic.

One thing that is always a potential compromise is when, for example, you are using an I/O controller which samples at a frequency that is less than twice the frequency of the game's input polling schedule.

Typically the input polling schedule is some integral number of video retraces.  For example, I happen to know that for Defender, Eugene reads the controls twice per video retrace.  Once at the top scanline and once at mid scanline.

On original hardware, the polling would simply read a de-bounced switch directly, and latency is minimized.

But when you have microprocessors and memory and FIFO buffers and a separate update loop (like USB's 100Hz) you experience all manner of problems with the input that most people simply are unaware of.

When confronted with this problem for pinball, I went the distance and used a hard-core data-acquision device that was several hundred dollars (designed for scientists, not video game players).  I used this so that I could poll the CPU's clock counter in the interrupt service routine to come up with an arrival time.

Some people think that minimizing latency is the whole job, but it's not.

If you get a different answer completely from a few nanoseconds difference in arrival time after the chaos and domino effect of the minute initial difference pans through a physical simulation, you want to gather all of the data.  And with pinball, there are only two buttons, but the data of the input is in the precision of the arrival time.

Now for Donkey Kong, 1000 Hz polling would very likely be plenty good enough.

So when I made a Pac-Man game, I used a much cheaper USB device that had a 1000 Hz poll rate.