Author Topic: Donkey Kong Trainer  (Read 14455 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sock Master

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #75 on: August 23, 2016, 12:36:31 PM »
A bug in DK Trainer has been discovered by Jason Wade.
If the board skip function is being used while the game is paused, it can muddle up some of the in-game statistics bookkeeping - some desyncing between your score and your pace may occur.

Specifically, it happens if you try to skip a board before it is finished processing an in-progress board skip...  I guess sort of a time distortion in processing.   This can also happen if you set the game speed very slow and try to skip boards twice in quick succession.

The not so bad news is that this can easily be avoided if you know what triggers the glitch.
If you've paused the game or are playing at low speed, avoid skipping boards in rapid succession.

I'll update the ROM with a fix soon.  The fix will simply disable the board skip button at times that it's already in the middle of processing a board skip.
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges. I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!"
Twitch TV  Streamer

Offline pser1

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #76 on: October 10, 2016, 01:06:08 PM »
Hi,
I am a newcomer to MAME, I have downloaded v0.178b that works flawlessly
with the standard dkong.zip
As soon as I substitute the four modified roms copying there the new ones
it is no more recognized by MAME that says:
The selected machine is missing one or more required ROM or CHD images.
Please select a different machine
This reminds me something about the CRC of each ROM.
As I change the ROMs, how could I avoid that CRC checking?
Any advice will be greatly appreciated
Thanks beforehand
pere 

Offline pser1

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #77 on: October 10, 2016, 01:24:36 PM »
Hello,
I am copying here the result of this command for maybe it could help find the solution ...
mame64 -verifyroms dk* >errordk.txt

dkong       : c_5et_g.bin (4096 bytes) - INCORRECT CHECKSUM:
EXPECTED: CRC(ba70b88b) SHA1(d76ebecfea1af098d843ee7e578e480cd658ac1a)
   FOUND: CRC(7ed5a945)
dkong       : c_5ct_g.bin (4096 bytes) - INCORRECT CHECKSUM:
EXPECTED: CRC(5ec461ec) SHA1(acb11a8fbdbb3ab46068385fe465f681e3c824bd)
   FOUND: CRC(98e2caa8)
dkong       : c_5bt_g.bin (4096 bytes) - INCORRECT CHECKSUM:
EXPECTED: CRC(1c97d324) SHA1(c7966261f3a1d3296927e0b6ee1c58039fc53c1f)
   FOUND: CRC(098a840a)
dkong       : c_5at_g.bin (4096 bytes) - INCORRECT CHECKSUM:
EXPECTED: CRC(b9005ac0) SHA1(3fe3599f6fa7c496f782053ddf7bacb453d197c4)
   FOUND: CRC(dd092591)
romset dkong is bad

regards
pere

Offline Sock Master

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #78 on: October 10, 2016, 03:55:58 PM »
This reminds me something about the CRC of each ROM.
As I change the ROMs, how could I avoid that CRC checking?
Any advice will be greatly appreciated
Thanks beforehand
pere

Any new or modified version of a ROM set will not have built-in support in MAME.
The DK trainer ROMs are a plug-in replacement for the regular Donkey Kong ROMs, but as they contain different contents so MAME will report that the CRC does not match the original ROMs.

New versions of MAME when using the GUI (graphical user interface) will prevent you from running a modified ROM.  I'm not sure if there's some setting you can change to allow it.. maybe someone can chime in.
But you can run MAME from the Command prompt and that lets you play the DK Trainer ROM.   Yes, it'll still report that the CRC is incorrect, but you just type OK and it'll run.

Old versions of MAME might allow you to play DK trainer using the GUI, but I'm not sure which.
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges. I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!"
Twitch TV  Streamer

Offline pser1

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #79 on: October 11, 2016, 12:02:24 AM »
Hello,
thanks a lot!
It works nicely from the command line, I didn't know.
I thought it was mandatory to change the CRC of each file!
I did that to emulate CoCo and Dragon machines to test
different DOS versions and it was painful  :(

You are doing a great job, cheers!
pere

Offline bdegg

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #80 on: March 04, 2017, 05:29:03 AM »
 I love this trainer, it's super helpful, but I really find the spring length numbers distracting on the elevator screen. Is there some way to hack those scrolling numbers out of the trainer?

I practiced springs using save states before I found the trainer, and I'm pretty OK at them but when I get to the springs on the trainer I'm terrible because the numbers make that area of the screen a lot busier.  <confused>

I'm comfortable with using a hex editor and I briefly messed with the MAME debugger trying to figure out a way to remove them, but I figured asking in here would be my best bet.

Offline Sock Master

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #81 on: March 04, 2017, 03:19:42 PM »
I love this trainer, it's super helpful, but I really find the spring length numbers distracting on the elevator screen. Is there some way to hack those scrolling numbers out of the trainer?

The older version of DK Trainer had the scrolling numbers on the right side of the screen, but the current version has them on the left, above DK himself.   They're in a less distracting location.

I'm not sure which version of the trainer you're using.  A hack to modify the ROMs would vary depending on version of DK Trainer.   If you have an older version you can go to the first message of this tread and get the .zip file that's linked in it.

"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges. I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!"
Twitch TV  Streamer

Offline bdegg

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #82 on: March 04, 2017, 04:23:08 PM »
I have the current version, with the scrolling numbers on the left above Donkey Kong. Ideally I'd just want to hack them to be gone.

I find that when I'm trying to concentrate on watching the spring placement I can't help being distracted by the numbers and that throws me off, lol. I do much better with the springs on a stock DK rom, I hardly ever die on the elevator screen and when I do it's usually an embarrassing failed jump or fireball mishap.

Offline Sock Master

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #83 on: March 05, 2017, 12:01:52 PM »
I have the current version, with the scrolling numbers on the left above Donkey Kong. Ideally I'd just want to hack them to be gone.

Ok, after some quick checking.. if you modify ROM addresses $3137 and $313C to both contain byte $3A  (originally they both contain $32), it should disable the spring numbers from appearing on the screen.

If you're modifying the .bin files, that would correspond to the $0137th and $013C bytes of the c_5et_g.bin file.   Both originally contain values of $32, replace with $3A.

"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges. I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!"
Twitch TV  Streamer

Offline bdegg

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #84 on: March 05, 2017, 07:34:17 PM »
Did you mean c_5at_g.bin? The c_5et_g.bin didn't have $32 values in those locations but c_5at_g.bin did.

I changed them to $3A and the numbers are definitely affected but they're still there..  looks like only one digit appears now? And the number doesn't seem to be related to the length of the spring. At first they don't scroll but after a couple springs the scrolling resumes.

Offline Sock Master

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #85 on: March 05, 2017, 08:23:00 PM »
Oops, I think I must have miscalculated the location of one of the two addresses listed in my previous message by one.

There should be this sequence of bytes $0C $D6 $0A $32 $86 $77 $79 $32 $A6 $77 $3E $0A in the binary.
Changing both of the $32 values into $3A will prevent the Z80 code from writing the numbers onto the screen.
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges. I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!"
Twitch TV  Streamer

Offline bdegg

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #86 on: March 06, 2017, 05:44:57 AM »
Works perfectly, thank you!  The numbers don't appear any more!

The correct addresses to change from $32 to $3A turned out to be $3133 and $3137.

Online QAOP Spaceman

  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 194
Re: Donkey Kong Trainer
« Reply #87 on: June 17, 2017, 03:14:20 PM »

A bit late to this, but  Kreygasm

Such great work, Sock Master...

Thank you!
Jammvyy : im glad your hear becuse i have somthig to say to you
Jammvyy : fk off
Twitch TV  Streamer Crazy Kong Killscreener