Author Topic: Help trouble shooting My old machine  (Read 10880 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #45 on: December 24, 2016, 11:19:31 AM »
Thanks for the input guys.  Everyone on this board is always so helpful! 

I watched the video (great video)  and believe I did everything he mentioned originally. I'll try re-seating the PC board at the back of the yoke and maybe hit the side of the cabinet to see if the monitor flickers.

This is all I did since receiving the re caped monitor boards.

1--I reconnected the 4 pin ribbon cable that goes down to the circuit boards. 
2--I connected a 2 pin connector that i believe is the degassing wiring
3--I connected another 4 pin connector that had similar circular pins to the board.
4--I put the board on the back of the yoke to the monitor and connected a grounding wire to it.

once I put the monitor back in I.....

A--Connected the speaker back up
B--Plugged the power back in:)
C--Plugged an unidentified double wire to the PC board that i had previously labeled

I'll figure out the jump issue once I get the darn monitor working??
« Last Edit: December 24, 2016, 02:50:25 PM by MCrysdale »

Offline Rolledcigs

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #46 on: December 24, 2016, 06:30:19 PM »
does the background music play?
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DK 1 Million Point Scorer

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #47 on: December 24, 2016, 06:44:05 PM »
The intro music plays and then the game starts and you hear the squeaky shoe running with the 7 note loop background music,  but nothing when you his the jump button.
 

Offline Rolledcigs

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #48 on: December 24, 2016, 11:26:24 PM »
i think the analog sounds have a capicator for each sound on the board. so it could just be a bad cap. I'm not a scientist though so someone else should confirm.
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DK 1 Million Point Scorer

Offline YesAffinity

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 360
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #49 on: December 26, 2016, 07:11:16 AM »
Can you post a pic of your power supply?  With a 4-board set, all available connections should be populated, including 9P SOU, which is unused for 2-board sets.

You did plug the monitor into the 100V outlet within the cab?  And, you also have the marquee light plugged in and the marquee light comes on (or failing that, have tested to confirm there is 100V at the outlet)?

As for jump, on the wire loom that interfaces the controls to the cab, pins often become flakey on the male side of the connector.  When I bought my red cab, 'up' wasn't working.  That pin is no longer firmly seated in the male connector, and when plugging it into the female side, the pin for 'up' pushes out of the male side.  Manually pushing it back in fixes the problem.  There was also some jankiness with the grounding for the CP harness, which I don't remember the exact details of, but cleaned up by installing a quick disconnect to interface the CP to the cab at the same location as those male/female connectors.  Grounding for 'jump' would be something else worth checking.
Matthew 21:22

DK Arcade PB (verified): 970,200 KS
DK Start PB (verified): 126,600
DK L1-1 PB (verified): 11,400
DK PB 1st Man: 622,000

www.twitch.tv/yesaffinity/
DK Blog: http://donkeykongforum.com/index.php?topic=1357.0
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DKF Blogger

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #50 on: December 26, 2016, 04:22:10 PM »
Hey YesAffinity,

I have the monitor plugged into the 100 volt socket in the cabinet (never a straight 120 wall socket).  The marquee light works (did replace the bulb with a LED fixture).  I'll check it it's actually putting out 100V.

Here is a picture of the power supply.

I'll look at the pins on the cable for the jump issue, good tip!


Offline YesAffinity

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 360
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #51 on: December 27, 2016, 09:01:43 AM »
Looks right as far as the power supply goes.  I meant "7P SOU", not "9P SOU".  :P

I wasn't aware LED's could replace the originals.  Is it a 100V LED, or how exactly does that work?  Good to know, either way, but I would like to be more informed on that piece of it, if you would share.

I would also suggest checking where the monitor power cord is soldered to the chassis, in addition to testing for 100V at the outlet.  Check to make sure it is firmly soldered to the chassis, you don't have cold solder joints, etc.
Matthew 21:22

DK Arcade PB (verified): 970,200 KS
DK Start PB (verified): 126,600
DK L1-1 PB (verified): 11,400
DK PB 1st Man: 622,000

www.twitch.tv/yesaffinity/
DK Blog: http://donkeykongforum.com/index.php?topic=1357.0
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DKF Blogger

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #52 on: January 29, 2017, 04:51:05 PM »
Here is a picture of the fixture I replace for the marquee.  Nothing specially really, just some little light up strip i think i purchased at a hardware store (might have been IKEA actually).  I cut the cord and spliced the wires.  I did plug it directly in the outlet first to make sure it ran off the 100V power supplied okay. 

I was poking at my machine a little today and it no longer makes sounds/plays (I can only tell if it's working when the speaker is playing since the monitor still is R.I.P)???  It was working around Christmas, I'm not sure what changed.  I wish I knew a local pro that could come help me trouble shoot.  The marquee still lights up and the 100V outlet still is putting out 105V, but zero anything on the monitor:(

I did check that 100V were getting to the monitor and it appears it is at the re-capped monitor(s) board I purchased.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2017, 04:58:09 PM by MCrysdale »

Offline YesAffinity

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 360
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #53 on: January 30, 2017, 01:27:47 PM »
i don't remember if this was explored earlier in the thread, and whether you've done it already, but have you confirmed that B+ voltage is good at the monitor chassis.  It should be at 108V, with the cab warmed up (on for at least 15 minutes).
Matthew 21:22

DK Arcade PB (verified): 970,200 KS
DK Start PB (verified): 126,600
DK L1-1 PB (verified): 11,400
DK PB 1st Man: 622,000

www.twitch.tv/yesaffinity/
DK Blog: http://donkeykongforum.com/index.php?topic=1357.0
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DKF Blogger

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #54 on: January 30, 2017, 07:47:21 PM »
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by 'B+', but I measured 105V at the board where the power cord is soldered to the monitor board.  Not sure exactly what other reading should be around that board to.  Troubles me that the speaker is no longer playing the game sounds/music.  I don't know if anything is working again.


Offline YesAffinity

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 360
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #55 on: January 31, 2017, 10:09:17 PM »
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by 'B+', but I measured 105V at the board where the power cord is soldered to the monitor board.  Not sure exactly what other reading should be around that board to.  Troubles me that the speaker is no longer playing the game sounds/music.  I don't know if anything is working again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LqmDMEI1fI
Matthew 21:22

DK Arcade PB (verified): 970,200 KS
DK Start PB (verified): 126,600
DK L1-1 PB (verified): 11,400
DK PB 1st Man: 622,000

www.twitch.tv/yesaffinity/
DK Blog: http://donkeykongforum.com/index.php?topic=1357.0
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DKF Blogger

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #56 on: January 31, 2017, 11:02:47 PM »
Yes:)

That looks like something i can try.....  When it's not midnight and I have a minute, I'll give it a shot.  If i only had Richie Knucklez email, he sounds like he know a few things about these monitors....only he's across the country from me:)

Offline YesAffinity

  • Elite Member
  • *
  • Posts: 360
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #57 on: February 02, 2017, 09:18:31 AM »
KLOV forums are a good resource, also.  Lots of monitor gurus over there.
Matthew 21:22

DK Arcade PB (verified): 970,200 KS
DK Start PB (verified): 126,600
DK L1-1 PB (verified): 11,400
DK PB 1st Man: 622,000

www.twitch.tv/yesaffinity/
DK Blog: http://donkeykongforum.com/index.php?topic=1357.0
DK Killscreener Twitch TV  Streamer DKF Blogger

Offline MCrysdale

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #58 on: February 27, 2017, 07:12:32 PM »
Well....

I broke down and brought my monitor to a TV repair guy that works on old CRTs.  I didn't have a high confidence level in him, but he had to more than me.  He claims it's a bad fly back.  Sounds reasonable, but he says they don't make them any more.  He says he knows of a place that will make one for $165 bucks:(  Then there is no guarantee that it will fix all my problems.  I'm feeling stuck again.  i don't have a lot of confidence in this guy, but I'm not coming up with better opinions.

Anyone know where i can get a reasonable fly back?

Offline M.Schrock

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Help trouble shooting My old machine
« Reply #59 on: February 27, 2017, 07:53:50 PM »
I would check twistedquarter.com
DKF Blogger